Lapp Your Plan is in Good Hands banner

Sponsor Board

LAPP is a jointly sponsored pension plan. This means Plan sponsors, LAPP members (employees) and the LAPP member employers who pay into the Plan, have equal say in how the Plan is managed. The Sponsor Board and LAPP Corporation work together to accomplish important shared objectives such as ensuring pension benefits are paid to members and overseeing the financial health and longevity of the Plan.

The sponsor groups appoint representatives to the Sponsor Board, which is legislated to make important decisions about your Plan including pension benefits, eligibility rules, and contributions. The Sponsor Board also plays a key role in determining the risk appetite for the Plan, setting the Funding Policy, and establishing contribution rates. Together these actions form the framework for how LAPP is funded.

The Sponsor Board will also meet with important employer and employee stakeholders of the Plan, who come together twice a year as the LAPP Stakeholder Consultation Group (SCG) to provide valuable feedback. If your employee or employee group is interested in participating in the SCG, please email

Documents such as Sponsor Board expenses can be found in Governance Publications as they are posted.

LAPP Sponsor Board

Susan McGillivray


Susan is appointed by Alberta Health Services (AHS).

Gil McGowan

Vice Chair

Gil is appointed by the Alberta Federation of Labour (AFL).

David Andrews

Board Member

David is appointed by LAPP Corporation.

Moira Game

Board Member

Moira is appointed by the City of Calgary.

Rory Gill

Board Member

Rory is appointed by the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE).

Darren Graham

Board Member

Darren is appointed by the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE).

Kent Hummelle

Board Member

Kent is appointed by the Alberta Post-Secondary Network (APSN).

Leland McEwen

Board Member

Leland is appointed by Alberta Health Services (AHS).

Aaron Neumeyer

Board Member

Aaron is appointed by Alberta Health Services (AHS).

Mike Parker

Board Member

Mike is appointed by the Health Sciences Association of Alberta (HSAA).

Jason Schneider

Board Member

Jason is appointed by the Rural Municipalities of Alberta (RMA).

Heather Smith

Board Member

Heather is appointed by the United Nurses of Alberta (UNA).

Card Titled Your Secure Pension Profile

In This Section

Your Pension Profile allows you to view your information, send documents, and request assistance and more via Secure Messages!


Card Titled Your Plan is in Good Hands

In This Section

Read all about the governance, oversight, and operational functions that ensure your LAPP pension is on track.


Card Titled Your Pension is Secure

In This Section

Learn how the LAPP pension fund is professionally managed to provide you with a secure retirement income.