Corporate Board

LAPP Corporation, overseen by the Corporate Board of Directors, is the administrator and trustee of the Plan.

The role of the Corporation is to ensure that pensions are paid to members. This is done by providing strategic guidance for the Plan, managing risk and ensuring the long-term sustainability of LAPP.

The directors are appointed by the same employee (LAPP member) and employer (LAPP employer) sponsor groups that appoint the Sponsor Board.

The Corporate Board is resonsible for establishing a Statement of Investment Policies and Procedures (SIPP) which outlines the asset allocation for the Fund, based on the risk appetite set by the Sponsor Board. The Corporation is also responsible for the administration of the pension benefit.

The Board of Directors is guided by bylaws and policies that outline rules of ethical conduct and conflicts of interest. Documents such as Board compensation, expenses, bylaws and meeting minutes can be found in Governance Publications once they are posted.

Darren Sander


Darren is appointed by Alberta Health Services (AHS).

Terry Agoto

Vice Chair

Terry is appointed by the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE).

Steve Bradshaw

Board Member

Steve is appointed by the Alberta Federation of Labour (AFL).

Robert Bhatia

Board Member

Robert is appointed by Alberta Health Services (AHS).

Maria Gagliardi

Board Member

Maria is appointed by the City of Calgary.

Tina Giesbrecht

Board Member

Tina is appointed by Alberta Health Services (AHS).

Kent Hummelle

Board Member

Kent is appointed by the Council of Post-Secondary Presidents of Alberta.

Laura Hureau

Board Member

Laura is appointed by the Health Sciences Association of Alberta (HSAA).

Peter Marsden

Board Member

Peter is appointed by the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE).

Larry Murray

Board Member

Larry is appointed by the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE).

Soren Odegard

Board Member

Soren is appointed by the Rural Municipalities of Alberta (RMA).

Richard West

Board Member

Richard is appointed by the United Nurses of Alberta (UNA).