LAPP Boards

LAPP operates with two Boards. While the member of both Boards are the same people, each Board has a unique set of responsibilities. You can find photos and short biographies of our Board members below.

The Board of Directors oversees the duties of ALAPP Corp.

  • Providing high level strategic guidance of the pension plan
  • Identifying risks to the pension plan
  • Monitoring pension economic and investment environments
  • Consulting with stakeholders
  • Setting service standards and assessing cost-effectiveness 
  • Developing communications for the Plan

The Board of Trustees has a defined set of duties:

  • Setting contribution rates
  • Recommending plan rule changes
  • Setting investment policy
  • Recommending new employers
  • Hearing appeals

The actions of both Boards are guided by policies that outline roles and responsibilities, rules of ethical conduct, sharing of information and protection of privacy.  These, and other documents such as meeting minutes and Board expenses, can be found in Governance Publications.

Darren Sander


Darren is a Human Resources Executive Director at Alberta Health Services (AHS). A Business graduate of the University of Alberta, Darren has over 24 years of public (17+ years within Healthcare) and private sector experience in the retirement and insurance industries.

In addition to his broader responsibilities within the Human Resource leadership team, Darren provides governance and management oversight to the many benefit and retirement plans and trusts that exist at AHS. Since the 2009 merger of Alberta's provincial health regions and entities, many of the trusts, policies, contracts, and benefit & retirement programs have been newly established, implemented and managed by Darren and his team.

Although a relatively new member of the LAPP Board of Trustees, Darren has been a long term member of the LAPP Stakeholder Consultation Group and brings a broad professional pension background ranging from administration to plan governance.

Terry Agoto

Vice Chair

Terry has been a Union Representative with the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE) since November 2001. He acts as union counsel representing AUPE and its members in rights and interest arbitrations and is also a spokesperson for the union for a number of collective bargaining tables.

Terry served as an employee nominated board member on the Public Service Pension Plan (PSPP) Board from February 2009 until July 2013. He held the position of Vice Chair of the PSPP Board from January 2012 until his departure from the PSP Board in August 2013.

Born and raised in Edmonton, Terry graduated from the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology with a diploma in Construction Engineering in 1992. He moved to Victoria, B.C. to attend the University of Victoria where he obtained his Bachelor of Science degree with a major focus in economics in 1997.

Ken Balkwill

Board Member

Ken was formerly the Senior Business Agent for the Canadian Union of Public Employees Local 30. Ken first joined the LAPP Board of Trustees in 1991 and served as an employee representative through a few terms until the end of 2003. Ken was reappointed to the Board in 2006 in his current role as the trustee representing Plan retirees. Previously, Ken served on the LAPP Administrative Board from 1975 - 1987, and was appointed for various terms as a Senate Member for the University of Alberta.

Steve Bradshaw

Board Member

Steve has a long background in organized labour, bringing a wealth of experience representing Plan members' interests to the LAPP Board.

Formerly, Steve was the President and Business Agent for the Amalgamated Transit Union, Local 569 in Edmonton. The Union represents about 2400 members in 3 bargaining units. He has been a union activist for over 35 years in Edmonton, Grande Prairie and, earlier in Sarnia, Ontario.

In his role as Business Agent for ATU Local 569, Steve was responsible for negotiating and, with the employer, managing the several benefits plans held with the City of Edmonton and administered by agencies like Alberta Blue Cross and Great West Life.

Barb Burton

Board Member

Barb is a human resources professional and leader with over forty years of experience in municipal, banking, utility and health care sectors, including fifteen years in an executive capacity. She has a Bachelor of Business Administration and is a Certified Human Resources Professional (retired status). She was a Senior Negotiator/Chief Spokesperson in labour relations with the City of Edmonton for 13 years and then moved into executive HR roles with EPCOR, ATB Financial and HBA Services. Barb retired in 2008 and has continued HR consulting for a number of clients.

Kim Craig

Board Member

Kim is currently into his third term as Mayor of Coldale, having been a member of Council since 2004. Kim served as a director of the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association (AUMA) from 2012 to 2016.  During that time, he served as chair of AUMA's Audit and Finance Committee, and was a member of its Investment Advisory Committee.

Kim is also a director of the Alberta Capital Finance Authority. Kim has worked four decades in the financial services sector.

Peter Marsden

Board Member

Peter has over 25 years of labour relations experience in the municipal and electrical power industry. Mr. Marsden was formerly the President of the Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 38 which represents 5,000 members with the City of Calgary and ENMAX. Peter has also served on the Provincial board of CUPE and as President of his community association.

Liz Thompson

Board Member

Liz is a Labour Relations Consultant in the Benefits and Pension area of Health Sciences Association of Alberta, where she provides representation and advice involving disability insurance, Workers’ Compensation claims, benefits and occupational health and safety.

Liz has over 30 years of benefits background, including 14 years with the Federal Government.

She is currently on the Board of Directors with the Alberta Workers Health Centre and serves as an advisor on several committees, including benefits committees and occupational health and safety committees.

Richard West

Board Member

Richard is a Labour Relations Advisor for the United Nurses of Alberta. He has worked serving the needs of members of that organization for the past 20 years. Richard holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Alberta. He brings with him to LAPP years of understanding and experience about pensions and benefits. Richard has served previously on the LAPP Board, from 1994 to 2006, and during that time he was elected Board Chair for two separate terms.

Heather Rogers

Board Member

The Director of Finance with the Alberta School Boards Association, Heather brings several years of experience in pension fund administration, management and leadership, board governance, risk management, finance, audit, budgeting and strategic planning.  In addition, Heather has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Alberta and is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA-CMA). Heather has been a long term member of the LAPP Stakeholder Consultation Group.

John Whaley

Board Member

John is an agricultural producer and is actively involved with a variety of community organizations such as the Nisku-Leduc Rotary Club and 4-H clubs. Currently serving his fourth term as Leduc County Councillor, he also served three consecutive terms as Reeve of Leduc County from 2004 to 2007.

Contact the LAPP Boards

 Phone: 780-427-5447
 Fax: 780-427-5030
 Mail: PO Box 1315
Edmonton, AB T5J 2M8